Uncategorized

Blanket Talk

I’ve been struggling with the prompt “blanket” today because as I think of what blankets are and what they mean to me, I can only think of a song and then I get distracted singing it. I feel that the lyrics to the song Pillow Talk by Zayn are the perfect description a blanket.

I don’t know about you, but my blankets have seen the best and worst parts of me. They’ve been covered in my tears and the first to see my smiles. They’ve heard me say words I’m not proud of, prayers of desperation, and thoughts I wish I had the courage to say in public. My blankets have seen fights and make ups, laughter and anger, and passion and fear. If blankets could talk they would be dangerous! They know all my secrets-all my weaknesses.

How interesting that, given all the dirt my blanket has on me, it is one of the most comforting things I own. My blanket makes me feel safe and protected. As a child, it protected me from monsters under the bed, as a teen it protected my emotions, and as an adult it protects my marriage as it keeps us close. I’ve always felt that as long as my feet were covered I was safe.

Like my blanket, my husband also knows my secrets. He knows my regrets, what makes me happy, my scary thoughts, and all my hopes and dreams. And he is the person I trust the most in the world. When I think about it, it is the people who know the most about me whom I trust the most. That’s how trust is built, isn’t it? By sharing secrets desires, mistakes, hopes, fears, etc. To trust a person you must really know them. You must give them the power to destroy you with their knowledge of you. That’s the only way you can feel safe with them. The only way they can become your blanket.

It takes time and it can start small, but everyone needs a blanket-someone you can feel securely wrapped up in. Mine is my husband, who is yours?
“Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed. If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble.”

 ‭Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 NLT

2 thoughts on “Blanket Talk

  1. Mine is absolutely my husband too. I feel completely lost without him and when shit really hits the fan, I need him immediately. It’s kind of crazy 🙂 but in the best way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

