motherhood

Better Love

I followed rules, I played the game

Obedience could have been my name

But still I messed up & hid in shame. 

In constant fear of whipping belt,

I always hid what I felt

Yet somehow still received a welt. 

It seems I’ll always be a debtor

So I will hide inside red sweater

Maybe one day I’ll be better
Now that I have you, my son,

I’ll make sure you’re number one. 

From old patterns we will run. 

You’re perfect just the way you are

Loving you will heal these scars

You can be my northern star. 

I won’t let you be a debtor

To let you know, I wrote this letter

No deed could make me love you better. 

Better

3 thoughts on “Better Love

Leave a Reply

