motherhood · special needs

Discovering New Hope

Getting that diagnosis stings like a prison sentence. How could this happen? Is this my penance? 

No more wondering, it’s final. Though I was so vigilant. He’s trapped. But wait! He’s a baby, he’s innocent! 

One and a half minutes of life with no breath. But the damage is done. He was snatched from death.  

My dreams for him shatter as I hold on to them tight. Will he walk? Will he talk? Will he have normal sight? 

Anxiety and worry flood my lungs. Too many therapies and appointments. How do I manage everyones’ opinions and disappointments? 

In all of the chaos, the truth still breaks through. My baby is alive! And we’ve got work to do. 

This route is harder, there’s no doubt. Friends just don’t understand. He’ll face challenges as numerous as the grains of the sand. 

I look at my boy; he looks back at me. To my heart his eyes whisper, “Cerebral palsy? Don’t worry mommy! I’m strong; I’ll overcome! You’ll see.”

This is not the end, things are not final. Soon all these worries will be old as vinyl. 

God gifts me new hope and new mercies each day. Through my son He will shine in a redeeming way! 
“I will never forget this awful time, as I grieve over my loss. Yet I still dare to hope when I remember this: The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.” ‭‭Lamentations‬ ‭3:20-23‬ ‭NLT‬‬



Final

Leave a Reply

