motherhood · special needs

Pink Dreams

My dreams are full of pink and pearls; the tutus and curls of my twin baby girls.

People think I’m crazy to pray for twins. Call me mad! I have researched, pinned tips, and planned for a life full of double. The first go ’round we got a beautiful baby boy. God knew what we needed! Now the girls will have a big brother to protect them (that’s my theory). 

I definitely feel that having J has prepared us for twins or whatever other combination of kids we have next. He is far from an easy or normal baby. Between the reflux, the seizures, and cerebral palsy, he is very behind developmentally. But, just this week he has started tracking and is getting so close to sitting up on his own! I feel so much more prepared to face the NICU stay and weight gain woes of twins, because we’ve already done it. I can’t wait until a cold or teething is the worst of our worries! 

Everyone says that they could never handle having a special needs baby, but they’re wrong. My husband and I both said that it would be the worst possible thing that could happen to us. We were SO wrong! Really, you just take what you’re given and go into parent mode, supplying their needs as they arise and doing your best not to fail along the way. People say the same thing about twins. Both things are harder than a typical, single baby, but you just DO. You get stuff done and you survive it. There’s no other choice. 

I’m well aware that my twin girl dream may not come true. I’ll just keep on with my pink and pearly dreams anyways. There’s nothing wrong with hoping! 
“We put our hope in the Lord. He is our help and our shield.” ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭33:20‬ ‭NLT‬‬

via Daily Prompt: Pink

One thought on “Pink Dreams

  1. Such a beautiful soul with such a beautiful post. You touched my heart with your wishes and your dreams. May your family become an inspiration for everyone. You are a symbol of love for all.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

